“Wife for Sale” – A Chaotic Comedy That Had Us Laughing (and Complaining)

Published by

on

Nollywood Movie Reviews
JUMIA ANNIVERSARY

Hey there, movie lovers! It’s that time again when I dive into the wild world of Nollywood, and boy, do I have a story to share about a movie that left me feeling

Get ready for the chaos and comedy in “Wife for Sale,” featuring Ruth Kadiri, Stephen Odimgbe, Oby Titus, and Alex Ayalogu.

First Impression:

The first 15 minutes of this film gave me serious “Nkasi: The Village Fighter” vibes. But instead of a protective and outspoken aggressive girl, we’ve got Ruth Kadiri playing Uche, a troublemaker of epic proportions.

Plot in a Nutshell:

Uche (played by Ruth Kadiri) is an aggressive woman who can’t seem to avoid a good old-fashioned brawl. Her parents, especially her debt-ridden father, Mazi Udeh (Anselm O. Omeh), are at their wits’ end. To settle his debts with Mazi Njoku (Alex Ayalogu), Udeh decides to marry off Uche to Njoku’s son, the notorious drunkard Alika (Stephen Odimgbe).

At first, their marriage is a rocky ride, with Alika’s drinking and Uche’s fighting creating quite the spectacle. But after a particular incident leaves Uche unconscious, they strike a deal: Alika will quit the bottle, and Uche will curb her brawling tendencies for 10 days. And surprisingly, it works! They transform from a chaotic couple into something resembling a normal one. The end.

Standout Scenes:

Now, let me tell you, any scene with drunkard Alika is pure comedy gold. Stephen Odimgbe absolutely nailed it and was the shining star of this movie.

Emotional Rollercoaster:

πŸ˜‚ (laughter) all the way! Alika’s antics had me rolling on the floor with laughter.

Twist and Turns:

On my personal scale of 1 to 5 for plot twists (with 1 being predictable and 5 being mind-bending), I’ll be generous and give this movie ⭐. Brace yourself; there were no groundbreaking plot twists here.

Binge-Worthy or Savour Slowly:

I binged it because I had my family along for the ride. We laughed and complained together, and honestly, that’s part of the fun.

Snack Pairing:

I wasn’t snacking while watching, thanks to a pesky bout of malaria that ruined my appetite. But you might want to grab your favorite munchies to enjoy the chaos.

One-Sentence Review:

“Wife for Sale” is Nollywood’s attempt at comedy, but while it had its funny moments, it mostly felt like a chaotic mess.

Who Should Watch This:

If you’re in the mood for some hate-watching, a movie you can trash-talk with your family, or just need a dose of Nollywood hilarity, this one’s for you.

Overall Satisfaction:

I’ll hand out 🍿🍿 for this movie. While it had its share of funny moments, they were a bit too few and far between for my liking.

Replay Potential:

This movie is a one-time experience for me. Once is enough to savor the chaos.

Memorable Distinction:

What truly sets “Wife for Sale” apart from recent films is its use of Nigerian names. In an era of foreign monikers, it was refreshing to hear those good old Nigerian names.

Crew:

  • Writer: Happiness Chioma
  • Director: Aragana Richard
  • Producer: Precious Kadiri

So there you have it, my take on “Wife for Sale.” If you’ve seen it or any of the other movies on my list, drop me a line and let’s chat about it. Until next time, happy watching, Nollywood style!

Don’t be shy, comment away

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.