Ruth Kadiri Put Her Foot in This One

Published by

on

HONEY WE ARE BROKE - RUTH KADIRI, JIDE JBLAZE OYEGBILE, LUCY AMEH, CHARLES Borne Nigeria. Movie review
JUMIA ANNIVERSARY

Movie Title

HONEY WE ARE BROKE – RUTH KADIRI, JIDE JBLAZE OYEGBILE, LUCY AMEH, CHARLES BORNE

First Impression

I was expecting it to be a comedy. 

Plot in 20 Words

A couple who live and extravagant lifestyle to oppress their friends and neighbours get a reality check when the sole breadwinner is fired from his job. The movie shows their slow and gradual process to accepting their current state.

Best Bite-Sized Moment

The scene where Jason and Lucy have dinner with their long lost friends who live at Ipaja. While Jason and Lucy are still in their braggart mode, their friends seem to be grateful with their lives. To their friends, what matters most is the memories they’ve made and the people they’ve shared those memories with. 

Chuckles or Cringes 

The exchange between the cook, Mensah and Lucy was too funny, I burst out laughing. 

She asks him to cook for them for free for the mean time, saying that they’re friends and he starts asking her a loads of questions like what is my real name?

Where do I live? 
Why didn’t you ever increase my salary? 
How do you expect me to survive without payment? 

Plot Twistiness

Rating 1 to 5 (1 being predictable, 5 being mind-blowing).

I give the plot twist a 4. The plot twist was the couple coming to terms with their situation, they are poor and cannot afford their lifestyle anymore. I liked that. 

Feels Meter

I wouldn’t say it tugged on my heartstrings but it did impress me. I never expected such an end from a Nollywood Movie but there it was. 

Binge-Worthy?

Totally binge worthy. 

Snack Pairing 

Meatpie and Predator energy drink. 

Fantasy Cast

I think the actors were perfect for the roles they played. I can’t imagine a better or alternate cast. 

One-Sentence Review

A simple drama that engages your mind to think about your spending habits and reevaluate your need to impress strangers. 

Recommendation

I recommend it to anyone who needs a good movie to watch. 

Overall Satisfaction

Movie rating scale: 1 to 10 (1 being mediocre, 10 being excellent)

I would give this movie a 6. The story is good, the dialogue is great. The acting is fine however, the visuals failed this movie. If the cinematography was given to an skilled videographer, they would have transformed this simple story into a timeless piece of art. 

Final Thoughts

(Watch again or one-time experience)

I just might watch this a second time. Ruth Kadiri put her foot in this one. I can’t even front. 

Don’t be shy, comment away

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.