Miss Touch and Follow

Published by

on

JUMIA ANNIVERSARY

My verdict: 2 out of 5

2015 | Comedy | 2parts | 193minutes 29secs | Watch here

This reason why this movie was called Miss Touch and Follow is still a mystery to me. Apart from Ruth Kadiri‘s character in this movie, all of the women were devoid of juju. It was the men that were using juju.
The synopsis:

A wealthy business owner makes the news when he attempts suicide after his girlfriend dumps him. The notoriety attracts the attention of a loud mouthed slum dweller who becomes his new bestfriend and bad influence.

So this movie was a light-hearted comedy which involved two little men (m-word) who have been unlucky in love all their lives and decided to do something about it by using juju. Well, we were only shown Obi’s (Odera Nwobu) misfortune but Bona (Prince E Achilonu) does explain why he chose to go into juju.
Bona, although being a layabout and proud, he was actually a nice guy. Unfortunately not nice towards women which I think was because of what he went through in the hands of women. Now, the thing with both Obi and Bona is not that they are short but that they actually look like kids despite being full grown adults. So back to Bona, Obi’s attempted suicide forces him, Bona to reach out to Obi because he felt Obi needed his help and since he was like Obi, he understood Obi’s plight.
However, things start to fall apart when Obi falls in love with one of his conquests.  You see, the duration of the juju’s potency drops qualitatively till the victim descends into madness. The longer a single spell stays, the higher the possibility of the victim going bonkers. Therefore, in order for the victim to remain slightly sane, there has to be a repeated charming and ‘uncharming’ of the victim which Obi didn’t do. So, Perpetual (Esther Audu) gradually transitioned into madness since Obi didn’t repeatedly (daily) break and cast the spell on her.
Whilst watching the part one, I wasn’t impressed. I kept asking myself “what nonsense is this?”, “Who did this?”, which I checked and saw Tchidi’s name. So, I decided to be patient and it did turn out right in part 2. Part 2 was a lot funnier and better written than part 1 – I think, all the fun happened in part 2. My advice: be patient with this movie. It does turn around for the better and no, it’s not the funniest thing ever but it is light-hearted and sweet.
I also liked how the movie, although comically, brought awareness to the discrimination baby-faced little people go through in Nigeria. Most times they are called kids instead of the men and women they are. On the other hand, I would have loved a little woman’s perspective as well and what she goes through on the daily.
Conversely, I didn’t like the lack of translations and this has been a major problem in Tchidi’s movies. The most bothersome ones are not even the one liners but the long sentences which is bad. How can you make a movie that has a lot scenes which a huge chunk of Nigerians and Africans do not understand in it. That is just totally unfair.

All in all, I thought it was a pretty decent movie.

Cast

Odera Nwobu as Obi

Prince E Achilonu as Bona

Esther Audu as Pepe

Angela Okorie as Bilikisu

Ruth Kadiri as Wendy

Stanley Ebuka as Ike

Directed by / Screenplay by

Tchidi Chikere

Written by / Produced by

Uchenna Ivo

4 responses to “Miss Touch and Follow”

  1. yato screwdriver Avatar

    ^. . Background: I’m applying for an MFA in creative writing program, and I’ve never taken a creative writing course. Most of my creative writing knowledge comes from research I did on my own. I’m wondering if during my research I at least learned the basics of creative writing, or if I really do need to take a course before starting the program? What do you think? I know most of the literary elements and how they can be implemented, though I can’t say that I implement them well..

    Like

    1. Myopic Concaves Avatar
      Myopic Concaves

      I think what you really need to do is READ. Read books on creative writing as well as novels. You could also take a class before your course if you have the time and extra cash for it.
      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  2. Glovsky Avatar

    Looking forward to reading more. Great post.Really thank you! Great.

    Like

  3. Treasa Latshaw Avatar

    Hello, Liking the commitment you put into your blog and extensive information you provide.

    Like

Don’t be shy, comment away

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Post
Next Post